Raennah Lorne

Raennah Lorne


Eze Amos’ photography exhibit “Cville People Everyday” will be on display in the Welcome Gallery through August 31. Courtesy of the artist.

Eze Amos exhibits ‘Cville People Everyday’

By now you might know his name. You’ve seen it before in these very pages. Maybe you’ve started to put a face to the name. You see him on the Downtown Mall, holding a camera, watching. He is freelance photographer Eze Amos, whose first photography exhibition, “Cville People Everyday,” opens this month at New City […]

Author Celeste Ng praises Aja Gabel’s debut, saying, “In the tradition of The Interestings and The Secret History, The Ensemble teases apart the strands of an intense and long-lasting group friendship that both bolsters and binds its members.” Gabel will read at New Dominion Bookshop on May 19.

Aja Gabel strikes a chord with The Ensemble

Around the same time Aja Gabel began learning the alphabet, she began playing the violin. As she became more adept at writing, filling “notebooks with stories as kind of a way to play,” she became more skilled at reading and playing music. When she was 10 years old she traded the violin for the cello […]

Melissa Cooke Benson depicts the realities of motherhood using graphite on paper. “TBONE (Bingo Babies Only)” (left) and “The Fringe” (right) are part of her exhibition 
“Mom Brain” at Second Street Gallery. Courtesy of the artist

Melissa Cooke Benson explores life and body changes

Artist Melissa Cooke Benson’s explorations in portraiture, long inspired by her daily life, have aligned with geographical moves, new and different cityscapes and cultures and alterations in her interior life, too. “With each life transition,” she says, “I’ve had to digest what’s going on around me and think of a way of incorporating what I […]

Beau LeBlond, Parker Nelson and Valery Duron confront modern issues through an updated
approach to the 1949 musical South Pacific. Photo by Eze Amos

CHS community explores South Pacific

Premiered on Broadway in 1949 and revived in 2008, South Pacific tells the story of American naval officers (both nurses and sailors) stationed on an island during World War II who are forced to confront their own racist attitudes amidst love and war. This month the musical comes to life on stage at Charlottesville High […]

Laura Lee Gulledge will launch Sketchbook Dares at The Bridge on February 10. Copies of the book are also available for purchase in the McGuffey Art Center gift shop. Supplied photo

Laura Lee Gulledge dares you to draw

With her new book, Sketchbook Dares: 24 Ways to Draw Out Your Inner Artist, artist, writer and teacher Laura Lee Gulledge challenges anyone of any skill level to draw. The former Louisa County art teacher says, “It’s the sort of book I wish I’d had starting off as a teacher but also as a creative […]

Book marks: A year of reading local authors

Book marks: A year of reading local authors

There’s no denying it: Charlottesville is a wordsmith-rich town. Whether you’re looking for a page-turner for the beach, autumnal meditations in the form of poetry, or a fireside companion for a winter’s night, there are enough local writers publishing books each year to keep your shelves well-stocked. Here are some of the titles published by […]

Sean Rubin will sign copies of his graphic novel Bolivar at Telegraph on November 15 to benefit The Haven. Courtesy of the artist

Bolivar the dinosaur hides out in New York

Imagine you live in Manhattan on West 78th Street and your neighbor is a dinosaur. The problem is, no one believes you. This is the premise for Bolivar, Sean Rubin’s debut graphic novel in which a large gray dinosaur living in New York speaks English, reads the New Yorker, orders corned beef sandwiches and visits […]

Open-dialogue proponent Daryl Davis will speak about his work with the Ku Klux Klan, which has resulted in hundreds of members leaving the KKK. Courtesy of Daryl Davis

TEDxCharlottesville speakers challenge our way of thinking

Artists, educators and innovators take the stage on Friday at the Paramount’s TEDxCharlottesville event. Among them are blues musician Daryl Davis whose friendship with members of the Ku Klux Klan has caused many of them to question their membership, National Geographic photographer Ami Vitale, who finds connections between cultures, and entrepreneur and cartoonist Chic Thompson, […]