Albemarle Supervisor Ken Boyd changes mind, declares candidacy


Precisely one year ago, Albemarle County Supervisor Ken Boyd told C-VILLE he had no plans to run for reelection. "I’ve all but come to the conclusion that this is going to be my last term on the Board of Supervisors," he said at the time. However, Boyd held a press conference this morning to announce otherwise.

Earlier this year, the supervisor also changed his mind concerning the expansion of the county’s growth area near Hollymead Town Center. At the time, in response to charges of being a "flip-flopper," Boyd said it was "an appropriate term for a person who changes his mind based on further information"—perhaps an appropriate comment for his recent announcement, as well. To read C-VILLE’s feature on Ken Boyd, click here.

Current chair Ann Mallek, representative for White Hall, announced in January that she would run for a second term. Supervisor Dennis Rooker was reelected in November 2009, and Duane Snow and Rodney Thomas were elected to their first terms. In that contest, Snow and Thomas, both Republicans, replaced Independent Sally Thomas and Democrat David Slutzky; their election gave the Board of Supervisors a Republican majority. Democratic Supervisor Lindsay Dorrier, whose experience on the board dates to 1975 and who has served continuously since 1999, announced recently that he would not seek reelection due to his struggle with Parkinson’s disease. Dorrier’s departure opens up the seat of a longtime incumbent.

Chime in below, folks: What will the Board of Supervisors look like next year at this time?