Sportscaster to inspire young women

Sportscaster to inspire young women

One of the most famous female sportscasters, Lesley Visser, has been named “Woman of the Year” by the Emily Couric Leadership Forum. The forum will present $20,000 in scholarships to 11 women from local high schools at a luncheon April 25.

The Emily Couric Leadership Forum has a new “Woman of the Year” in sportscaster Lesley Visser. She’ll speak at the forum’s annual luncheon, where $20,000 in scholarships is awarded to local young women.

Visser is one of America’s best-known sportscasters, and she is the only figure to sportscast the Final Four, Super Bowl, World Series, NBA Finals, Triple Crown, Olympics, U.S. Open of Tennis and the World Figure Skating Championship. She is also the only woman to be recognized in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Currently a sportscaster for CBS, Visser joins other forum-named women leaders like Katie Couric, Rita Dove and Sandra Day O’Connor.

The Emily Couric Leadership Forum, in its seventh year, was formed to honor two-term state Senator Emily Couric, who died in 2001. The forum has announced 11 student finalists for the scholarship: Elizabeth Arbogast of Murray High School, Brittany Beringer of Monticello High School, Leanna Berrey of The Covenant School, Irtefa A. Binte-Farid of Albemarle High School, Ariel Shaker-Brown of Tandem Friends School, Kathleen Garson of Western Albemarle High School, Amelia Goldsmith of Renaissance School, Natalie Oschrin of Charlottesville High School, Robin Parker of the Miller School and Lucie Rhoads of St. Anne’s-Belfield. Ten finalists will receive $1,000 scholarships; one recipient will get $10,000.

C-VILLE welcomes news tips from readers. Send them to